Belated Updates, Happy New Year?

Geojin is a quaint little village tucked neatly away along the coast and a short distance from the border that separates North and South Korea. Once in a while I’ll go through phases where I feel bummed I live in this tiny town. Some of it’s limitations include any type of food that is not Korean (with the exception of pizza), a grocery store that has a wide assortment of fruits and vegetables (I have to travel 45 minutes to get bananas and lemons), no extracurricular activities such as yoga, dance, Korean classes…. the list can be longer but I will cut it short here.

Inevitably, you’re going to go through ups and downs no matter where you are in the world physically, or mentally. I’ll take this opportunity to focus on one of my favorite perks that comes with living in a small town.

Leaving almost every weekend to explore a new part of Korea.

For New Year’s weekend I made my way to Daejeon, the 5th largest city in Korea, smack in the middle of the country as well.

New Year's Crew - Ryan, Sarah, Jenn, Ian, Vince

New Year’s Crew – Ryan, Sarah, Jenn, Ian, Vince

I’m really glad I went on this trip because these are some cool peeps right here. We were all at the same orientation but I didn’t actually know half of them until after this weekend (aka I was only really friends with Jenn and Sarah prior to this weekend).

I got real lucky because my co-teacher last semester was awesome and gave me an extra day off New Year’s weekend so I was able to go aaaaall the way to Busan, which is on the complete opposite side of the country from where I live.

Hanging out with Sarah and Ian sometimes resembles going to an improv comedy show, they’re both pretty hilarious.

Sarah

Sarah

Sarah and I really bonded over New Year’s weekend and I’m so grateful for her friendship. One of the best people I have come across and I wish we didn’t live so far from each other. She lives in Gwangju which is the southwest corner of Korea, whereas I’m in the northeast corner…. so you can imagine, it’s not easy to meet up.

My Gwangju Girls - Sarah and Jenn

My Gwangju Girls – Sarah and Jenn

Jenn is another one of the girls that is part of my support system here. The three of us actually met up in the Philippines and had a great time there.

Busan over New Year's Weekend

Busan over New Year’s Weekend

Spreadin’ the love over Busan

Vince and Ian

Vince and Ian

Both great guys that are really fun to hang out with, I hope to share many more weekends with these fellas. This was right around the countdown…. we were running a bit behind schedule and knew we wouldn’t make it to our destination in time so we just had a nice little cheers out in the streets! :)

Doesn’t matter anyway because the tradition in Korea for New Year’s is to watch the sunrise.

Haeundae Beach in Busan

Haeundae Beach in Busan

me and my girl <3

me and my girl <3

I know we’re over a week into March… but Happy New Year!

So far this year is promising in many ways. 2013 has started off with me feeling extremely refreshed and exhilarated, free, happy, excited to see how it unfolds. Though these feelings haven’t stayed at a 110% constant, when I lose sight of them, I feel something tuggin’ at me, reachin’ in and bringing me back to that first week of 2013 when I felt like I was ready to conquer.

I already have several eventful weekends coming up, so I’m looking forward to that.

Dog Cafe in Daejeon

Also, did I mention Korea has dog and cat cafe’s all over the place? You just go, pay around $5, get a drink and hang out with the animals. We stayed there for a long time chillin’ with the pups and playing cards.

Hope you all are doing great. I enjoy receiving your e-mails very much and look forward to hearing from you! :)

About mshahar6

I'm 25 years old, graduated from UCSB with a B.A. in Psychology and a minor in Education and Applied Psychology. I was working as a Behavior Interventionist for the last 4 years and decided to do something completely out of my comfort zone and teach English in South Korea for a year! I thought it'd be fun to document my experience, travels, growth, and keep my friends and family in the loop with this blog. Who know where this adventure may lead me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Belated Updates, Happy New Year?

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but
    after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  2. Greetings! Very useful advice inn this particular article!
    It is the little changes that will make the most significant changes.
    Thanhks a loot for sharing! get instaagram likes free fast

  3. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this brilliant blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your
    RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook
    group. Talk soon!

  4. What’s up, just wanted to tell you, I loved this blog
    post. It was inspiring. Keep on posting!

Comment

